15.—Legislatures and Premiers of Prince Edward Island, 1935-54, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1954

Legislatures, 1935-19541

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947 Apr. 26, 1951	18th General Assembly. 19th General Assembly. 20th General Assembly. 21st General Assembly. 22nd General Assembly.	4 4 5	Sept. 25, 1935 Mar. 20, 1940 Feb. 15, 1944 Feb. 24, 1948 Oct. 23, 1951	Apr. 21, 1939 Aug. 20, 1943 Oct. 27, 1947 Mar. 30, 1951

¹ The Ministries from 1935-54 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 14, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. P. MacMillan; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 15, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell; 22nd Ministry, sworn in May 11, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. J. Walter Jones; 23rd Ministry sworn in May 25, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. A. W. Matheson.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1954.

Twenty-Third Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Apr. 26, 1951: 24 Liberals and 6 Progressive Conservatives.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier. Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Executive Council	Hon. Alexander W. Matheson. Hon. B. Earle McDonald. Hon. C. Cleveland Baker. Hon. William Hugees Hon. Eugene Cullen. Hon. Walter E. Darby. Hon. Dougald MacKinnon. Hon. Kerr Clark. Hon. Edward P. Foley!	Sept. 16, 1939 June 16, 1951	May 25, 1953 May 25, 1953 Oct. 13, 1949 May 25, 1953 Oct. 13, 1949 Oct. 13, 1949 June 16, 1951 June 16, 1951 June 10, 1954

Added to table after Mar. 31, 1954.

Subsection 3.—Nova Scotia

The Government of the Province of Nova Scotia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly.

The Honourable Alistair Fraser, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office Sept. 1, 1952. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 87.

The General Assembly has 37 members elected for five years, the maximum duration of its existence. The Assembly elected May 26, 1953, was the 45th in Nova Scotia's history and the 22nd since Confederation.

The Premier of the Province receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$10,000 per annum. Each Member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$2,400 and an allowance of \$1,200 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$3,000 in addition to his sessional indemnity.